Highoncraft on Etsy

Part 3 of my special featured shops on Etsy. 

Today it is all about http://www.highoncraft.etsy.com  a very talented artist who offers a gorgeous selection of art prints, toys, and cards.

Who:  High On Craft

Where:  Ontario, Canada

What do you like to make?  Cards, plush toys, zipper pouches, clothing, and original artwork.

What are your favourite mediums?  Paper, watercolours, fabric, and felt.

When did you start and why?  Just over a year ago my mom got me a sewing machine for my birthday and I was immediately hooked. I then discovered how economical it was to sew my daughter’s clothes rather than buy them so I had the perfect excuse to give in to my sewing addiction.

How long have you been doing this?  About 12 years ago I started out making wood crafts and selling them to friends and family and my mom’s colleagues. My interest in that petered out and I then got into scrapbooking and became a consultant – sold supplies and taught workshops.  Card making has always been a hobby of mine but it wasn’t until I discovered the crafting blog world that I became inspired to come up with my own designs for the types of crafting that I love the most.

How long have you been on Etsy?  Since March 2008.

Do you sell your creations anywhere else?  No, just etsy.

What is involved in your creative process?  I kind of let the ideas come to me and then get them down on paper. If the ideas don’t flow easily from my brain and out my pencil then I tuck it away and revisit it at a later time. Some ideas get shelved for a really long time and others develop easily into wonderful things.

What is the best thing you love about your art?  The joy it brings other people.

What is your all-time favourite piece?  That’s easy – a quilted wall hanging of a little baby embracing the earth. I also really love my Cuddle-Wee Babies.

(see below for picture of the quilt)

What is the biggest drawback you have found in selling online?  Canadian shipping prices.

What do you do to advertise?  I spend time in the etsy forums, I hand out business cards and pamphlets and I have my shop name in vinyl lettering on my car.

Do you have any suggestions to other artists who may be interested in learning your craft?   Well, I’m self-taught and there isn’t a lot of technical knowledge associated with the types of crafts I do – unlike glass bead making, book binding, weaving for example. So I would just say draw creativity from your daily inspirations and only do what you love. If you don’t love what you do it will come across in your work.

Do you have any suggestions to others who want to sell their crafts online?
Well, for selling on etsy I’d say take the time to learn all about etsy and what they offer. Make use of the wealth of knowledge from the administrators, the in-house articles and the other sellers in the forums. Don’t just set up shop and sit and wait. Be pro-active and network online with the wonderful etsy community.

Mini Rag Quilt Wall Hanging For Nursery - Baby and Planet Earth

Mini Rag Quilt Wall Hanging For Nursery - Baby and Planet Earth

Cuddle-Wee Baby

Cuddle-Wee Baby

 

When I visit her shop,  I get such a warm fuzzy glow looking at all the wonderful warm colours of her Artwork and Cuddle-Wee Babies.  This is a Must See for all who love children!

8 responses to “Highoncraft on Etsy

  1. What a great article High! It’s so nice to hear what inspires others in their crafts, and to see the results of that inspiration!!
    Thanks for doing the feature jewelz!!

  2. Thanks for the feature Jewelz! I look forward to reading more.

  3. Great blog! This interview with High is very enlightening. I’ll have to read back through the rest.

  4. You are most welcome High! I do so love those Cuddle-Wee Babies! They are so adorable 🙂

  5. Thank you so much for visiting Gillian! I love to visit all the beautiful shops on Etsy. So many talented people there 🙂

  6. Thank you very much for visiting Carol! I hope to continue having interviews with the artists on Etsy!

  7. Another great interview Jewelz! It is so wonderful to learn more about our good friend’s on Etsy.

  8. Have you all checked out her new stamps? Adorable!!

Leave a Reply

