Winter is here again.

Well, it looks like winter is finally arriving here in Ontario.  Yesterday it was a very dreary wet day, and by the time I went to bed last night it was snowing.  Although there was no snow on the ground when I woke up, there was, and still is some on top of our vehicles.  I still have some tulip bulbs to put into the ground before the frost sets in, and I am hoping that on my day off this week that I can do it.

I have been playing with my fimo clay again.  I started out wanting to make little angels, but for some reason they just would not form for me.  That is ok though.  I ended up with these cute little fae folk instead!

OOAK Fimo Clay Sculpture Fae Creatures Aliah

OOAK Fimo Clay Sculpture Fae Creatures Aliah

OOAK Fimo Clay Sculpture Fae Creatures Gryphon

OOAK Fimo Clay Sculpture Fae Creatures Gryphon

 

I have decided to start allowing the clay to speak through me, rather than trying to make it do what I want.  I am also learning how to add other materials to my sculptures, such as hair etc.  When you add hair (fibers, wool etc) it is called wigging.  It is not the easiest thing to learn, and it will continue to be a learning process for me.  Here are my first attempts at it. 

I have added a Santa Claus to my Etsy shop in addition to the two above. 

His beard is made out of acryllic fibers, same as the Fae Creatures hair.

OOAK Fimo Clay Sculpture Santa Claus

OOAK Fimo Clay Sculpture Santa Claus

  There are 3 more of these that I have not listed yet.

img_2984 img_2989 img_2995

I think before I list these, I am going to be working a bit more with the beards.  I am not happy yet with them.

I have some more snowmen and a teddy bear too.

OOAK Fimo Clay Sculpture Teddy Bear

OOAK Fimo Clay Sculpture Teddy Bear

OOAK Fimo Clay Sculpture Snowman

OOAK Fimo Clay Sculpture Snowman

 

I also have these with green and blue ribbons on them. 

Over the next few weeks I have some ideas that I will be working on, and will post some pictures of them as I complete them.

Leave a Reply

